When your messages had been marked as unread, even your partner replied to them; it just means that your partner has been disabled the Read receipt setting. Disabling the Read receipt will let your partner not see if you've read their chat messages. Make sure to let your partner know so that they can change the setting on their side. To know more about Configuring Presence Settings, you can read them by taping this link: Configuring presence setting